GLITTERWORD

  • 10:47:42 pm on December 22, 2011 | 9
    Tags: , , , , , , , ,

     

    JUST FICTION EDITION- Is JUST FICTION indeed

    As I love you my followers I figured I would do you a kindness in giving you all the facts about the recent emails going around for the Just Fiction! Edition Publishing house going around.

    Have you received an email from them?

    If you have you most likely gave a sigh of relief, as a writer, I know that having someone contact you about your story makes your stomach flutter and gives you excited chills. But after considering this excited chill myself I came to the conclusion that my babies, my stories, were worth much more than what this publishing house could or would supply for them. Sending the story into the ethers of interweb space of abandonment is tough and that is exactly what sending my story to them would probably result in.

    The email will go like this:

    Dear (EXCITED AUTHOR),

    I am writing on behalf of a new international publishing house, JustFiction! Edition.

    In the course of a web-research I came across a reference to your manuscript (INSERT NAME HERE) and it has caught my attention.

    We are a publisher recognized worldwide, whose aim is to help talented, internationally yet unknown authors publish their manuscripts supported by our experience of publishing and make their writing available to a wider audience.

    JustFiction! Edition would be especially interested in publishing your manuscript as an e-book and in the form of a printed book and all this at no cost to you, of course.

    If you are interested in cooperation, I would be glad to send you an e-mail with further information in an attachment.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Kind regards

    (DEATH OF YOUR STORY)

    Acquisition Editor

    Just Fiction! Edition is a trademark of:
    LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing GmbH & Co. KG

    Heinrich-Böcking-Str. 6-8,
    66121, Saarbrücken, Germany

    Please think better of your story and don’t give it to this publisher. Aside from the cookie cutter looking book cover that would banish your title to the ethos of non-existence it is the same as any other self publishing niche EXCEPT that you will not get paid what your worth. SoOooo NOT only will you not have the support and backing of marketing with a well known publisher BUT you will also not have the benefit of more money per bought copy with normal self publishing.

    Either way I suppose the choice is yours but just remember that Just Fiction will not have an editor on staff to catch the mistakes you couldn’t and since lots of people out there, the ones NOT as SMART AS YOU, will probably publish with Just Fiction and not edit their work at all. Your story would be lumped in with the stigma of unedited and sloppy work tagged on its forehead for the rest of its existence.

    At least with other self published works you are your own stigma. Edited or un-edited as you wish.

    Not to mention the fact that most of the contracts with Just Fiction Edition keep the rights to your story… FOR LIFE! and only pay you something measly like 10% on even the EBOOK?

    Now… here’s the tip off peeps, after responding to their email (which specifies above NO COST TO YOU) It really does mean NO COST TO YOU and NO MONEY FOR YOU – How are you supposed to get the sales when they won’t be marketing for you plus the reduced percentage of payment towards your book? (per comment given below by a victim of this publisher they take your baby in whatever format you gave it to them in and send it into their predestined template with no formatting changes, meaning it will probably look very unprofessional) And what comes along with formatting issues? The fact that it’s a German company and they lump your story in with German language books whether or not your work is in German or not. (per below comment from victim of this publisher)

    Don’t get me wrong, if want you’re looking for is just a way of getting something published and you go in knowing that you’re not getting the benefits of either self publishing or traditional publishing then go ahead and sign your work away to the dungeon.

    I suppose I’ve made my point. But here are some of the examples.

    Per Writers Beware:

    http://accrispin.blogspot.com/2011/08/solicitation-alerts-justfiction-edition.html

    Please also see the following post about Just Fiction Edition Scam as well:

    http://lexirevellian.blogspot.com/2011/09/just-fiction-edition-scam.html

    So JUST FICTION Is indeed JUST A BUNCH OF FICTION!

    ENjoy! I hope I saved you the trouble of having your heart broken.

    ~Stevie

    TheGLITTERLADY

     

Comments

  • Louisa 4:14 pm on February 15, 2012 | # | Reply

    Thank you for this! I just received an email with pretty much the same info. as in your example above, except that it offered to publish my dissertation. It was from LAP Lambert Academic Publishing, rather than Just Fiction; I assume this is just another way to get authors’ attention.

    Sad, really, as I was excited to see it at first! Thanks so much for your post!

  • Julia 4:40 pm on November 12, 2012 | # | Reply

    Dear Stevie, I’m intrigued to hear that Just Fiction! Edition expects authors to stump up a “reimbursable” $200. This would explain how the scam works – I wondered how they managed to make a profit if an author was happy with his or her free copy and didn’t buy any more! I don’t suppose you kept the reply from JFE in which this was stated? I’ve been thinking of sending them a sting manuscript to find out more but this would save me a lot of time and effort!

    Alice

    • glitterlady 6:56 pm on November 12, 2012 | # | Reply

      Hi Alice, I never sent them my manuscript. They found my free chapters from Book Country and requested my full manuscript for submission. At first I was excited but the more I researched and looked into them the more it just sounded like a way to not only spoil my author platform and name but totally send my baby to the dumpster. I just hope that my post saves a few people from making a mistake for their writing.

      • charlfk 2:18 pm on April 4, 2013 | #

        Well, you sure saved me from the dungeons. I certainly got the butterflies when I first saw the email, but luckily I have many friends and contacts in the writing world that saved me from disaster. The email I got was possibly also off Book Country, and identical to the one above., But Colleen from BC admin is on the alert. Where do these charlatans come from?

  • Jacob Cordingley 6:09 pm on December 14, 2012 | # | Reply

    I was surprised they even knew the title of my novel (or actually a novel I started a couple of years ago and didn’t continue with). I figured it was a scam almost straight away. I hadn’t sent any chapters anywhere or even posted any of it online anywhere. I looked at the website, it looks professional and gives names of distributors and bookstores it says it works with. I then googled them and found this which confirms my suspicions. Thanks.

    • glitterlady 9:57 pm on December 17, 2012 | # | Reply

      You’re welcome another author saved ^_^

  • Jessica Jay 1:17 pm on January 21, 2013 | # | Reply

    This is a great post!! I fell victim to the scam and I wanted to add a couple things:
    They don’t do any page formatting at ALL which means they take the PDF file they send you and slap it into book form. The text is TINY, even people with good eyes have a hard time reading it.

    Also, it’s a German owned company, so the ISBN you’re given for your book indicates that the book is in German (no matter what language your book actually is) so it will be shelved and categorized in with other ACTUAL German books. (this is a publisher error, I don’t think they even know what an ISBN number is)

    Anyway, you’re 100% correct. None of the help and none of the money. Publishing with them is a TERRIBLE idea. Go on Amazon and look at the book descriptions of some of their other books. It’s obvious that there has been no editing of anything.

    I didn’t have to pay them anything, though. No $200, not even a penny.

    • glitterlady 8:19 pm on January 21, 2013 | # | Reply

      Great thank you, I’ll edit my post ^_^

  • Lori 5:03 pm on March 13, 2013 | # | Reply

    Thanks for your post and care for authors. They emailed me just as you stated today. Please see my book Reflections on my website. Thanks again.


Leave a Reply

