GLITTERWORD

  • 06:00:44 am on August 23, 2012 | 3
    Tags: , , , , , ,

    MEET Celeste Jones

    Author Interview

    What inspired you to write your short story collection, The Long Arm of the Law ?

    One day over lunch, my mother leaned across the table and said to me “Have you ever heard of spanking…you know…like during sex?” After I finished choking on my salad, she explained that she had been taking some writing classes at the local university and met a woman about my age. They became friends and this other woman confided in my mom about her kink and the fact that she wrote short stories for a site called Discipline and Desire.

    I contacted her new friend and with her help I learned a great deal about domestic discipline and writing spanking fiction.
    How long did it take you to write your book of short stories from idea, writing, to revision?

    The first story, The Long Arm of the Law, which is about 8,000 words total took the longest because it was my first one. The other stories are about 4,000 words each and once I was in the writing groove, I wrote about one per week.

    Do you plot or are you a pantser?

    Panster! Whenever I try plotting or outlining, I freeze up with “what comes next?” So I just go for it.

    I’m sure you would be a pantser just for the simple juxtaposition with spanking. How do you guide yourself around the erotica mark of too lurid and just enough spicy detail?

    First, I try very hard not to use the phrase “throbbing member” (though chances are, I may have at some point). I think the trick is to have enough detail for it to be sexy for the reader, but not so graphic that it pulls the reader out of the story. Of course, that’s different for every reader, so I basically do what feels comfortable to me and what seems appropriate for the story and the characters.

    What would be your favorite short story and why?

    I have two favorites.  Mirror, Mirror  is my favorite short story. It’s about a woman who looks in the mirror and sees her aging body and begins to cry. Her husband finds her and explains how he loves all her wrinkles and stretch marks because they are symbols of the life they have lived together. But, because they have a “no pity parties” rule, he also spanks her in front of the mirror in a scene that I think is very sexy.

    My other favorite is my new story Twenty One Days To A Better Attitude. It’s sort of a chick-lit meets domestic discipline story about a woman whose new neighbor challenges her to a spanking. It’s a sometimes humorous look at how she deals with being spanked and then realizing that she likes it.

    Any funny stories about your writing experience while creating The Long Arm of the Law?

    I have two funny stories about my writing experiences—one is about how my mother is the one who suggested that I write spanking stories and the other is about her reading my first story to my father…including the blow job scene. When she told me that I wanted the earth to open up and swallow me! (no pun intended. lol)
    How fun is that! This one spanked me up! Great stuff, thank you so much for joining us on Glitterword. Everyone go check out her book for some fun spanking stories or visit her blog for a spanking story that even her publisher had to cut. GASP! so exciting. Check out a couple of other spicy collections below:

    First is Legal Briefs: Over The Knee Justice

     The legal profession can be very satisfying for women. But when they misbehave, over the knee justice will be delivered.
    Judge Not: Class Reunion (Short story, approx. 14 pages)
    Judge Not: Family Gathering (Short story, approx. 14 pages)
    Jimmy can hardly believe that the sexiest judge in town is now his wife. Elaine is the youngest judge ever elected in the state with a long list of professional accolades. Despite her professional success, Elaine is constantly worried about what others think of her. Jimmy, and his firm hands, teach her that stretching the truth lying, to impress others is unacceptable wifely behavior.
    The Body Guard (Novella, approx. 35 pages)
    Kendra Johnson spends her days prosecuting criminals and her nights alone. All that changes when a body guard is assigned to protect her.
    Detective Zach Stuart takes his job as a body guard seriously and when his charge is less than cooperative, he imposes his own brand of discipline…over his knee.
    And Twenty One Days to a Better Attitude
     
    Assistant Prosecuting Attorney Darcy Hughes has her life tightly under control, at least until Ben Dawson moves in next door. Ben’s attempts to be friendly are quickly rebuffed. He calls her out on her rude behavior and suggests that a good spanking will cure her bad attitude.
    “I’ll give you a spanking.” Darcy opened her mouth to protest. He put a finger to her lips to shush her. “When it’s over, if you still believe that you didn’t need one, then I’ll go back over to my house and I’ll never bother you again.”

    “But,” he continued to keep his finger on her lips, “if you find that you did need the spanking then I’m going to come back over here every Saturday night and redden your backside.”

     

     

Comments

  • cameronlawton 6:24 am on August 23, 2012 | # | Reply

    Another great interview Stevie. Do ALL of us who write risqué stuff have embarrassing relatives? Wishing you every success, Celeste. Well done!

  • Celeste Jones 11:26 am on August 23, 2012 | # | Reply

    Stevie, thanks so much for allowing me to visit your blog! And, if I may toot my own horn…my latest (and first self published) book Underwear Probation is also available on Amazon. I am soo excited!

  • Sue Lyndon 12:26 pm on August 23, 2012 | # | Reply

    Great interview! Celeste, it still cracks me up that your mother suggested you write spanking stories LOL. I’m looking forward to reading Underwear Probation!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,990 other followers

