GLITTERWORD

  • 08:00:42 am on June 14, 2012 | 12
    Tags: , , , ,

    MEET DEE ANN WAITE

    Author Interview!

    A brand NEW series of interviews, guest blogs and more for Thursdays!

    Check out the main page if you’re interested in participating!

    Writer – The Consequential Element; photographer; http://www.deeannwaite.com

    WELCOME DEE ANN to GLITTERWORD! Super excited to hear about your personal writing journey on your debut novel coming out in August!

    How did you come up with the idea for The Consequential Element?

    I began writing this fiction novel about a year ago. I happened to be scanning through world news articles online, when I came across an issue about China and rare elements and how they are potentially affecting the United States’ homeland security in a negative way. This is a real life issue, and one that not many people are even aware of, especially women. Anyway, it bothered me enough to start talking about to family and friends. Of course, once you begin talking about something like this, all minds run wild and the next thing you know our country is being taken over by the Chinese. I thought – Hey! There’s a great fiction story here! Hence, The Consequential Element. It’s based on truth with untruths woven through.

    What do you plan to accomplish with this novel?

    In writing The Consequential Element, I hope to enlighten people on a very real issue. I’m not a political activist, I don’t surround myself in politics, but I am interested and concerned about things that affect our country. I follow world news, and I’m somewhat up on our domestic issues. This book is not directly written about politics, and has minimal political reference. Although there are those who are trying to get me to list it as political fiction. I’m sort of balking that because I don’t think it fits that genre.

    I understand you also have a blog called Getting Published for Fiction Writers . Where do you get your topics of discussion and information from:

    Most of it comes from my own experiences, whatever I happen to be going through at the time. And other topics come from those around me. Sometimes a reader will bring up an issue they’re having, or an agent will discuss something that has become a bit of a trend issue. Sometimes I’ll be reading something and think, wow, my readers should know about this.

    What was your inspiration behind your book cover? Did you create it yourself? If so how?

    I created the book cover myself with Photoshop. My inspiration for the cover comes from within the book. Since the story is about a rare earth element found in the Congo by an American archeologist, and this element could have a significant impact on the future of the United States, and also that the military plays a role when they do the extraction of the captives from the rebel army, I designed the cover with these elements in mind.

    Do you have any frustrating or funny moments while creating this book?

    Frustrating? You bet. I find the whole revision process frustrating. Often I have visions that I can’t seem to convey in words just right, or I stare at a sentence, know it needs help, and find I’m at a loss as to how to fix it. This happens constantly, and I never feel my revisions are finished. I simply have to just stop, or I will go on revising forever.

    How long did it take you to create? From first draft to revisions?

    Due to having a day job, and an unfortunate illness that laid me out for three months, the whole process took me 1 year and 9 months.

    So you’re self publishing your book in August, correct?

    My thinking is this: this is my first novel, I want to learn everything there is about the ups, downs, ins, and outs of putting a book out in the world. I want to learn as much as possible about e-publishing / self-publishing. I’m sure I’m going to make many mistakes. I don’t want them to be in front of an agent and publishing house right off the bat. I want to be a little seasoned before I hit the big houses. I have two other books in the making, and ideas for two more after that, so I will have plenty to submit the traditional way, if that’s the way I choose. And besides, I’ve heard authors say their book was picked up by a publisher after they e-pubbed. If my book is good enough, that could happen to me as well. Why not, right?

    Why not, indeed! I’m all for it. Plus when you have something as action packed as what I was reading the work will speak for itself.

    OKAY! HERE IS THE FIRST SENTENCES

    HOOK TIME!

    “She’d been rescued. That’s what they said. Only she didn’t feel rescued; she felt captured.
    Danielle sat in the chopper and watched as organized chaos developed around her.”

    Right off the start line we know who our character is, Danielle, and she is dealing with a lot of inner turmoil. She’s survived something that has changed her life. These sentences leave the reader wondering what exactly happened to her? Great beginning and strong start!

    You can read the rest of the first chapter on Dee Ann’s website.

    Synopsis: Danielle was just a missionary’s daughter in Africa until her mother was murdered and she was captured. Trained, as a child, to be a soldier killing who she must when she must years later she was saved by a mercenary team put together by her only living relative Uncle Ronald Dupre, an archeologist. In Congo he discovers an element, Promethium, the missing piece to a stealth missile that ignites a full out black ops war between China and the US and Ronald was caught in the middle. Desperate, he sends his notebook and map to Danielle to hand off to the Homeland Security but of course the locations are coded and a rogue CIA agent was sent to retrieve the information from Danielle, at any cost. Kayden, a black ops agent, interferes with the rogue agent’s plans and confuses Danielle’s desires. Will she seek revenge on the men who stole her life and her mother or will she save the man she grows to love?

    Coming August 2012!

    Until NEXT TIME!
    Also, if you are an author and want to be featured here please visit my AUTHOR INTERVIEW PAGE!
     

Comments

  • Dee Ann Waite 12:19 pm on June 14, 2012 | # | Reply

    Thanks a bunch, Stevie, for my interview. I thoroughly enjoyed it and had a lot of fun. You patience and wonderful attitude have been worth a million. I know I wasn’t the easiest to interview, with my last minute responses. I apologize for that. The layout and question sequence are great. You certainly know how to do an interview! — NOTE TO AUTHORS: If you ever have the opportunity to be interviewed by Stevie, you’d be wise to do so! A blessed and wonderful day to all.

    • glitterlady 3:01 pm on June 14, 2012 | # | Reply

      You definitely had your reasons I’m just glad you are feeling better. You got to stop beating yourself up, hospitals can be an expensive pass time. 🙂

  • Paul Gerard Day 2:26 pm on June 14, 2012 | # | Reply

    Great interview and excellent answers Dee. 🙂 Thanks Stevie for giving new authors the chance to be interviewed and for the exposure.

    • glitterlady 2:59 pm on June 14, 2012 | # | Reply

      It’s my pleasure. I enjoy finding out about new stories and assisting in promoting self pub authors. Thank you for being my interview guinea pig, it was fun!

    • Dee Ann Waite 3:48 pm on June 14, 2012 | # | Reply

      Thanks Paul! What a fun experience, don’t you think? I know you were interviewed by Stevie on June 7th. Great interview there, also! Isn’t Stevie a wonderful interviewer? What a pleasure.

  • Maggie 3:39 pm on June 14, 2012 | # | Reply

    Debbie! I’m so proud of you! What a great interview… You answered all the questions perfectly… I can’t wait to read your novel when it comes out in August.. Though I do not have any idea what e-publish is but I will figure it out. I need to know what happens to Danielle….

  • Daniel Swensen 3:41 pm on June 14, 2012 | # | Reply

    Very cool. Thanks for the great interview, Stevie and Dee Ann! I may pick up The Consequential Element when my reading list thins a bit!

    • Dee Ann Waite 3:46 pm on June 14, 2012 | # | Reply

      Thanks for visiting and for the comment, Daniel! My fingers are crossed that your reading list will thin enough for you to check out my book in August. Thanks so much!

  • Dee Ann Waite 3:45 pm on June 14, 2012 | # | Reply

    Thanks Maggie! Since you don’t know what e-publish is, I’m going to assume you are a reader and not a writer! LOL Ahhh, the dilemmas of Danielle. In my mind, they never end, but in the book, they did come to a close. At least most of them. The ending may surprise you. 🙂 Thanks again.

  • Graeme Ing 8:20 pm on June 15, 2012 | # | Reply

    Great interview. That opening line is a super hook. This is going on my goodreads list (might already be there, lol)

  • Dee Ann Waite 8:35 pm on June 15, 2012 | # | Reply

    Thanks so much Graeme! That’s great to know. Fingers crossed, the release date is the end of August. I’ll be sure to let you know.


Leave a Reply

