GLITTERWORD

  • 04:00:36 pm on December 19, 2011 | 0
    Tags: , , , , ,

    #fridaypictureshow

    Hosted by @jend_author http://jendauthor.wordpress.com/

    Over the weekend I was informed that I was the Winner of #fridaypictureshow, As I am a firm believer in not doing a whole lot of social networking and stuff 7 days a week, I waited to annouce this awesome news for the weekdays.

    December 16th 2011

    WINNER!

    Prompt 8

    “I feel…” I took one strong whiff of a mesmerizing concoction that reminded me of a pine tree right after a crisp rainfall. It had my mind reeling and my heart thumping against the inside of my ribcage.

    Like a beacon I followed the toxic fumes down the banister and around the corner.

    “Did you sleep well Bird?” Gabriel’s voice was like a low vibrating cello string pulling me deeper into a nonsensical consciousness.

    “I feel…”

    “I’ve been waiting for you.” He smirked.

    A burning numbness coursed slowly through my veins.

    It was too late.

    I was under his spell.

    100 words

    Notes from the judge:  @theglitterlady: This was an exceptionally difficult but eventually inescapable decision for me. What makes this story a dark horse winner, for me, is the subtle sensory engagement of it. In a mere 100 words, the reader is provided sights, sounds, touches, scents and perhaps even the taste of the noxious fumes. It sneaks up on you and almost evaded me in its quiet but masterful delivery. I extend a hearty huzzah and a bow to the skill of The Glittery One.

    Thank you so much to judgemaster Jefferey Hollar @Klingorengi  for choosing my flash fiction story as overall winner! And to @JenD_Author for hosting this wonderful challenge!

    Don’t forget to check out the rest of the honorable mentions Tom Keller @dryadsgarden , Robby Hilliard @redshirt6 , Cara Michaels @caramichaels and Best use of Prompt : Nicole Wolverton, @nicolewolverton and their awesome stories in the commentary of the original prompt post —-> http://jendauthor.wordpress.com/2011/12/16/fridaypictureshow-week-8/

    Please be sure to stop by tomorrow for #tuesdaytales judged by @TrashyWriter a sensually awesome flashfiction challenge that you don’t want to miss out on!

    ~theglitterlady

     

Leave a Reply

