GLITTERWORD

  • 04:31:54 pm on December 1, 2011 | 17
    Tags: , , , , ,

    NANOWRIMO

    WRAP UP

    Starbucks Last Chance WriteIn

    I did not win, in the traditional sense, but as I said in the begining of this chaotic challenge that the goal wasn’t to reach fifty thousand words. It was to reach as many words as I could. Though my badge doesn’t say WINNER on it, I feel like one because I made a vast improvement on last year’s attempt.

    Last year’s NANO : 25 thousand words

    This year’s NANO: 45 thousand words

    That is a 20 thousand word improvement from last novemeber and only 5 thousand away from the win!

    If only there were 31 days in November.

    Lessons I learned about myself this month:

    1) I averaged around 1,400 words a day

    2) I become less productive after 4 hours of writing

    3) I only broke 5 thousand words in a day on the last day of the month

    4) After 3 thousand words my brain needs day dreaming time to refresh

    5) Going to local write-ins was what made me more accountable to write more (also the cookies didn’t hurt)

    6) I have an affinity for rubber ducks… they are like motivational mojo

    In a nut shell, with full time work, school, 2 birthdays, and thansgiving I was able to knock out 45 thousand words and I am super darn proud of that even without my winners badge… Year 1 only made it half way through, Year 2 I was only 5k away from the winner’s mark, next year will be the year I WIN! It’s all about build up and a drive to succeed.

    Did you make the 50k words in a month?

    If you did, pat yourself on the back, take a nap, and let the crazy drain from  your system for a couple of days then get back on that band wagon.

    If you didn’t, like me, ask yourself, ‘Did I write more this month than I would have other wise?”

    If the answer is YES to that question then even without the goal of 50k you, my friend, are just as winnerific as the best of them. Not all of us can plug out 1000 words in 10 minutes like some crazy peeps I’ve seen in some word sprints…

    It boggled my mind then and it boggles my mind now.

    Now just because the month of national writing is officially kicked, stomped, and flogged for the year of 2011 writing is not just a fleeting thing, so gather some fellow peeps and set a monthly date to keep plugging away.

    Who says your novel has to end at fifty thousand words?

    KEEP WRITING!

    This challenge isn’t over yet, I haven’t finished the story… so my goal for the month of December is to get a finished first draft… so HERE is to another 30 thousand words of MAYHEM!

    More Starbucks.

    More Rubber ducks.

    More sleepless nights.

    &

    MORE WRITING!

    ~ The Glitter Lady

     

Comments

  • Nellie 4:35 pm on December 1, 2011 | # | Reply

    Congrats on getting those 45k words in. As I say to the people in my group, those are words that you didn’t have before. Now I can not be as frantic about writing the story and just try to get a couple ready and see if I can get something published.

    • glitterlady 4:53 pm on December 1, 2011 | # | Reply

      It’s only a matter of time before the publishing houses get tired of me knocking on their door and let me in… so HERE’s to frantic writing and the inevitable future of our names in print

  • zencherry 4:40 pm on December 1, 2011 | # | Reply

    45,000 words is AWESOME! And btw, rubber ducks ARE cool. This is a fact jack. 😉

    • glitterlady 4:54 pm on December 1, 2011 | # | Reply

      I have a rubber duck that glows… well it lights up different colors and would probably cause some people out there to have a seizure… but it is still rather cool

      • Daniel Swensen (@surlymuse) 5:22 pm on December 1, 2011 | #

        A rubber duck is objectively better than a Nano badge.

      • glitterlady 6:05 pm on December 1, 2011 | #

        They are quite inspiring… I even have 100 words dedicated to the duck in my novel… Occasionally I throw a duck in there and try to hide it and maybe one day I can point out how many ducks were actually in my novel without people noticing. ENTERTAINMENT in a duck!

      • Nellie 7:01 pm on December 1, 2011 | #

        Rubber duckies ARE cool. Roomie and I want to get different ones and do a duckie theme in the bathroom.

  • Mark 4:43 pm on December 1, 2011 | # | Reply

    That’s quite a jump in your wordcount from last year to this, so congrats on that. Just getting where you did deserves a check in the ‘win’ column, in my opinion. =)

    Besides, there’s always next year.

    • glitterlady 4:57 pm on December 1, 2011 | # | Reply

      Oh, and next year I will totally be more ready for it than I was this year… I WILL surpass my current high marks. It just means that I will have to save up more money to hang out at a starbucks every day that I can… something about a place where the only distraction is the distraction of writing created a very productive environment

  • Amber West 4:46 pm on December 1, 2011 | # | Reply

    45K is winning in my book. Especially with your schedule. Kudos!

    • glitterlady 4:59 pm on December 1, 2011 | # | Reply

      Thank you Thank you (bows) You love me you really love me [hands you a pixelated rubber duck]

  • Daniel Swensen (@surlymuse) 5:22 pm on December 1, 2011 | # | Reply

    You took this experience and learned a lot from it — that’s a big win in my book.

  • Rachel Thompson (@foxfyre) 6:02 pm on December 1, 2011 | # | Reply

    Congrats on the progress! The duck reminds me of my first year doing Nano with the “Hydrophobic Ducks” back when I lived in Bothell. I still put my glow in the dark rubber ducky next to my monitor while I’m writing. He helps me focus. 😉

    • glitterlady 6:03 pm on December 1, 2011 | # | Reply

      That is exactly what the rubber duck stands for! Aww the history of Seattlites!

  • Danielle M. Harada 11:35 pm on December 1, 2011 | # | Reply

    Seriously, congrats on the 45k! It took me until my third year to win as well, except my numbers were 10k year one, 25k year two, and then 50k year three. I think I needed to build up my momentum as well!

    I am increasing my rubber ducky collection, I now have 9 and would love to add more in the coming years!

  • Rosie Lane 11:02 am on December 4, 2011 | # | Reply

    45K is an excellent outcome. With everything else on your plate, you definitely get to consider yourself a winner.

  • Deidra Alexander 6:32 am on December 6, 2011 | # | Reply

    After reading this post, I can see you’re a winner, definitely!


Leave a Reply

