GLITTERWORD

  • 06:05:44 pm on October 18, 2011 | 19
    Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

    Third Writers’ Platform-Building Campaign

     Third CHALLENGE

     

    This Campaign will ran from August 22nd to October 31st. hosted by @RachaelHarrie

    This week’s challenge is to write a 300 words or less story that shows:

    • that it’s morning, 
    • that a man or a woman (or both) are at the beach
    • that the MC (main character) is bored
    • that something stinks behind where he/she is sitting
    • that something surprising happens.

    Just for fun, see if you can involve all five senses AND include these random words: “synbatec,” “wastopaneer,” and “tacise.”  

     

    Chance Meeting:

    The beach is cold this time of year and the wind picked up sending a shiver down into my toes. The kite in my hands flung itself in the air and crashed to the moist sandy ground. It broke.

    This is where I met him. Same time, same day, last year. I never got his name. Stupid, now that I thought about it. Campfire ash stuck to my hair from behind. I probably smelt like burned wood instead of the coconut shampoo I used earlier this morning. The whole situation was ridiculous.

    I sat here, fire dwindling, my hair damp from the ocean mist and smelling of wood. What was I doing? I guess I thought he would come back being a man-creature of habit that I might whisk him off with my elegant charms? I don’t feel elegant bundled up in layers staring at the rolling waves and tasting the salt on my lips.

    “You know you look like an angel waiting for the sun to rise.” I could hear his voice in my mind.

    “I’m no angel.” I said out loud sighing at my predicament.

    “You’re mine.” His voice responded and it seemed so real I couldn’t help but turn around.

    He came.

    205 words  (not including title)

    Like my story? Please vote for me over HERE:  by clicking the little thumps up like button at the bottom of the post! I’m # 38 on the list! Don’t forget to check out all the other lovely contestants while your at it!

    1. First Campaigner Challenge – Monday, September 5 200 word story staring with “The door swung open…” (check) you can see this post HERE – Called TO HADES
    2. Second Campaigner Challenge – Thursday, September 22 200 word story with the words: imago, “miasma,” “lacuna,” “oscitate,” “synchronicity,” (check) you can see this post HERE -Called Velvet Touch
    3. Third Campaigner Challenge – Monday, October 17 (check) This post!

    I have completed the WriterCampaign CHALLENGE!

    Check out all the detail on the writercampaign over at RACH WRITES

    Use the hash tag #writecampaign to join the conversation on Twitter

    ~Stevie McCoy AKA @theGlitterlady

     

Comments

  • Nellie 6:18 pm on October 18, 2011 | # | Reply

    Very sweet.

  • Jessica 6:39 pm on October 18, 2011 | # | Reply

    How romantic 🙂
    Love the imagery here. Great job!

    (I’m entry #5)

  • Elizabeth Varadan 6:51 pm on October 18, 2011 | # | Reply

    Ooh, nice! Used all of the senses beautifully. Great opening.

  • K.T. Hanna (@KTHanna) 6:51 pm on October 18, 2011 | # | Reply

    This feels a little sad even though the ending isn’t. Well done.

  • Jen 7:06 pm on October 18, 2011 | # | Reply

    This is lovely, and so evocative!
    Mine is #25.

  • #writecampaign « glitter word 8:50 pm on October 18, 2011 | # | Reply

    […] Third Campaigner Challenge – Monday, October 17 (will be posted on October 19th) […]

  • Alynza 11:53 pm on October 18, 2011 | # | Reply

    Very lovely! I would love to read more about them. You get a vote from me too. 🙂

  • Kathy McKendry 2:19 pm on October 19, 2011 | # | Reply

    I love the imagery in this one

  • glitterlady 3:37 pm on October 19, 2011 | # | Reply

    Thank you all for the support and comments [that smear on your monitor is my interwebs smooch]

  • tara tyler 8:16 pm on October 19, 2011 | # | Reply

    i love a happy ending!
    great job!

  • David Powers King 8:25 pm on October 19, 2011 | # | Reply

    once again, you’ve nailed it. Tugging on my heartstrings like that. Great job! 🙂

  • bridgetstraub 12:35 am on October 20, 2011 | # | Reply

    How romantic. Mine is #56

  • Angie Cothran 2:35 am on October 20, 2011 | # | Reply

    I love your use of the senses 🙂 I felt like I was there.

  • Avery Marsh 2:30 pm on October 20, 2011 | # | Reply

    Aw, great ending! 🙂 And your writing is so evocative. Well done.

  • ♥ LadyJai ♥ (@I_am_LadyJai) 5:46 pm on October 21, 2011 | # | Reply

    Very romantic! Loved it!

  • mish 6:15 pm on October 21, 2011 | # | Reply

    This was like an “unplanned rendezvous” – great job… and soooo romantic *sighs*
    (My entry at no.#47)

  • Lady Gwen 6:55 pm on October 21, 2011 | # | Reply

    *Sigh* I love romance. So glad he showed up. Nicely done! I’m #65.

  • Joanna 2:40 pm on October 22, 2011 | # | Reply

    Strong beginning and ending and I do love a bit of romance!

  • Maeve Frazier 7:43 pm on October 24, 2011 | # | Reply

    This is lovely. Very romantic.


Leave a Reply

