GLITTERWORD

  • 02:00:48 pm on September 5, 2011 | 11
    Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

    September Dice Challenge

    Ladyantimony Dice games

    Posting dates are: September:  Monday 5th, 12th, 19th, 26th

    There are 6 prompts each week and you pick your prompt for the week based on the number you roll on the dice.

    This time the challenges are 1000 word max flash fiction which is quite a bit more words than usual to have fun with.

    Read all about it at Lady Antimony’s blog.

    Challenge 1 will be prompt number 4 –  

    A dragon just wrecked your house – deal with it

    creator of photo unknown

    “You smell like wood.” My best friend Eddie wrinkled his nose at me. It’s like his nostrils were waiting for me to stick something up them that will enlighten the situation and everyone would go, ‘AH HA!’

    “It’s campfire and it just means that you missed out on smores last night.” My clothes still smelt like charcoal. There weren’t any smores but he didn’t know that.

    “There’s a thing called a shower. You should discover how to use it.” Eddie’s grin had his eyes narrowing with victory.

    “It’s called manly musk. Girls are into it.”

    “Not the girls you want.” He laughed, “Any reminder of the outdoors might send some of the babes running for their lives; meaning away from you.”

    “And your overpowering spray will have them suffocating before they get close.”

    “Hey, Christy loves this cologne. Makes her…”

    “Vomit.”

    “Whatever Camper James.”

    I really am a camper now. The tent from the shed is set up next to the rubble that used to be my house. I told the police I had a place to stay. I wasn’t technically lying but I wasn’t in a typical situation.

    “I’ll see you later.” I take the last bite of toast on my plate.

    “Eat and run? I thought we were going to…”

    “I have an emergency.” I didn’t mean to come over and leave but he was my only option for food and I still needed to go back to my house, or what’s left of it.

    “Are you coming back later?” He shrugged and dug back into the sugar toast crunch cereal box with his bare hand.

    “Yah, we’re still on for a round of Time Crisis?”

    “I’ll get the gun controllers set up later. I’m going back to sleep Smoky.” He grabbed the box, with his hand still in it, hugged to his chest he moseyed back to the bedroom.

    Perhaps he will wake up with sugar toast crunch all over his face?

    “Night.” Seemed odd to say goodnight when it was morning but I just shrugged and walked back home.

    The second floor collapsed on top of the first. Partial side wall still stood with a divot in the middle of it all. It looked like a bonfire made for royalty when I sat outside watching it.

    But what concerned me now was the insurance claims person and the call my parents will get shortly, if they haven’t already. Where will I stay? I can’t go back to the way things were until the mission is completed.

    I crunched over burnt boards and ash and stared at the start of the fire.

    I was careful.

    It would look like an accident.

    The prophesy wouldn’t come true if I didn’t believe.

    My body lied there with fingers still clutching the amulet.

    Like shedding skin; I remember my flesh falling off my limbs.

    I took the stone from my old crisp digits and regret that I will break my promise to Eddie until I know everyone is safe.

    I am a demi-dragon.

    I look away nearly thinking I am just a ghost looking at my corpse.

    “It’s time to go.” A voice from behind me says softly.

    “You’re from my dreams.”

    To be continued…HERE

    532 words

    The four weeks of the Dice Challenge, I will update the same story based on the new prompt. Come back Next Monday for the next update on our friend demi-dragon James. (Updated: Next POST HERE)

    Don’t forget to stop by Tomorrow for TuesdayTales challenge! Look forward to everyone joining in.

    ~Glitterlady

     

Comments

  • Jessica 3:31 pm on September 5, 2011 | # | Reply

    Demi Dragon, I’m loving the viewpoints. Nice to see a new, fresh, take on this theme. I especially love the banter between the two characters. It flowed naturally and I was bummed that it ended.

  • Emilia_Quill 7:20 pm on September 5, 2011 | # | Reply

    I love anything part something, dragons espcially. Though I have to say, the most annoying words in the world are “to be continued”, The direcion the story is going seems intriguing, I can’t wait to read more.

  • Antimony 7:36 pm on September 5, 2011 | # | Reply

    Definitely a great start to the challenge! Can’t wait for the rest of the story 🙂

    A x

  • David A Ludwig 8:30 pm on September 5, 2011 | # | Reply

    Very glad this story’s going to continue, because I really need to know what happens! Sounds like he wasn’t always a demi-dragon? Or had some really weird growth spurt that left the shell of his old form behind… And who’s the dream voice?!

    • glitterlady 3:00 am on September 6, 2011 | # | Reply

      @jessica It hasnt ended yet… just come back next Monday for the next prompt that will steer this story line.
      @Emilia lol would you like it more if it just ended? Or I can change it from “to be continued” to… “Until next time” lol Thax for reading
      @Antimony Glad you stopped by, I will difinately be making the rounds to the other entries soon
      @David lol it’s been tough trying to roll up all of these writing challenges but Here I go… more to come next week.

  • C.M. Cipriani 4:26 pm on September 9, 2011 | # | Reply

    Very awesome! I can’t wait to read more especially if they’re all going to be based on the other challenges, I wonder what else you’ve rolled!

  • Sometimes it’s easier just to let them die… « glitter word 1:05 pm on September 12, 2011 | # | Reply

    […] be sure to catch up on the story line with Challenge 1, this is a continuation. Of course the story is alright in an of itself. You can continue to read […]

  • You just discovered the Fountain of Youth – how did you find it? « glitter word 5:28 pm on September 19, 2011 | # | Reply

    […] dates are: September:  Monday 5th, 12th, Today!, & […]

  • “I was so sure I’d gotten rid of all the evidence…” #flashfiction « glitter word 6:37 pm on September 27, 2011 | # | Reply

    […] dates are: September:  Monday 5th, 12th, 19th!, & […]

  • September Dice Challenge « glitter word 8:58 pm on October 18, 2011 | # | Reply

    […] Challenge 1 will be prompt number 4 –  A dragon just wrecked your house – deal with it […]

  • Castlemartin Builders 2:03 am on July 16, 2013 | # | Reply

    That is sick!! I still am taken aback that this really went on in todays day and age. I was relieved I was sitting down for this. We know what will happen to this. I will watch closely to see what is happening and going forth.


Leave a Reply

